Happy Birthday David!

For my cousin David’s birthday, I created a dessert that layered made from scratch custard, fresh strawberries, shortbread cookies and a sprinkle of dark chocolate chips in a jar. Here’s a step-by-step photo story of how I made these desserts. I started with empty Ball 4 ounce jelly jars.

Empty Dessert Jar

I then piped custard to form the base layer of the dessert.

Custard in dessert jar

Then, I took fresh, organic strawberries and created a layer on top of the custard.

Diced strawberries in dessert jar

Usually, I would bake some shortbread, but I ran out of time, so I opted for a tried and true cookie – the LU shortbread in a box.

LU shortbread cookies in dessert jar

To top off the dessert, I sprinkled a few Ghirardelli bittersweet chips on top as the finishing layer.

Ghirardelli semisweet chips in dessert jar

I then created round labels to decorate the top of the jars. Cousin David loves bicycles, so of course there would be an image of one!

Bicycle label for dessert jar

Lastly, I put the jars in a box and tied a big red bow around them! It was a pretty easy dessert that travels well and can provide a neat way of blending a handful of complementary flavors.

Red bow for dessert jar

Use all different types of custards, puddings for the base and pair it with other various fruits. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

