Flowers for the bees

I’m not a big flowers girl. My garden is usually filled with vegetables and fruit, but not flowers. Yet, last year at Wiegman’s Nursery, the gardener recommended that I plant flowers around my strawberries to encourage pollination of flowers for more fruit. Wha-la! More strawberries. So this year, before I plant my garden, I decided to add some flowers in pots around the backyard.

Flowers in pot

I planted Osteospermum Hybrid Serenity Rose Magic (peach colored mum flowers) and Pincushion Flower Scabiosa Columbaria ‘Butterfly Blue’ (bright purple colored tiny flowers) with these beautiful, delicate yellow flowers – sorry, I don’t know what they were. I’m hoping that these will bring the bees as much joy as they have for us. Here’s to many more strawberries this year!

Leave a Reply

