Basic bread pudding

We had one of Jason’s old friends (not that he was up there in age, but that they have known each other for many years) over for dinner tonight. While I was prepping the ingredients for dinner, I thought I would skip making croutons and put our day old bread to good use in something sweet. I stumbled upon this bread putting recipe from the Pioneer Woman, who borrowed the original recipe from Tom Perrini.

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla (I used only 1 because I’m not a big fan of strong vanilla flavor)
  • 2 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 cups sugar (I used only 1 cup of sugar because everything always ends up too sweet for my taste)
  • 3 1/2 to 5 cups sourdough bread, cut into 1-inch cubes (I think I ended up with about 5 cups and opted for an Italian country bread instead)
  • 1/3 cups pecans, chopped finely (I used whole, raw pecans and left some coarse chunks)

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

2. In a bowl, use a hand whisk to beat together eggs, butter, vanilla, and milk. Add sugar and mix until sugar is dissolved.

3. Arrange bread cubes tightly in a nine-inch baking dish, keeping the crust facing up around the edges in scattered within the dish. Pour liquid over the bread.

4. Sprinkle pecans all over and bake for 55 to 70 minutes, or until crust is golden brown all over the top.

Bread pudding bread

I make sure the edge pieces point upward for a visually pleasing experience.

Bread Pudding Mixture

And soak each piece of bread so that the mixture makes it into every crevasse.

Bread pudding with pecan pieces

Right out of the oven with toasted pecans and a golden color.

You can make the Whiskey Cream Sauce ahead of time, but I made it right before serving the bread pudding and even added some theatrics to the process by burning off the alcohol using the flame from our gas stove.

  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used only 1/4 cup of sugar because, well, things are usually too sweet for me)
  • 1 stick (8 tablespoons) butter
  • 1/2 cup cream (I didn’t have cream in the house, so I just used whole milk)
  • 1/4 cup whiskey (We just returned from Louisville, Kentucky with some incredible bourbon, so I used the good stuff)

1. Combine all ingredients in a saucepan, stir constantly over low heat until mixture reaches a low boil.

2. Pour a small amount over the individual servings of bread pudding.

I think I actually did okay with the bread pudding because Jason said he wanted seconds. For a man who rarely enjoys dessert, I guess this was a compliment.

Bread pudding with bourbon sauce

Leave a Reply

