Angry Birds cupcakes

My nephew turned five the other week. To celebrate this milestone birthday, I asked him what treat he wanted. He quickly pulled out his iPad and proceeded to toggle to YouTube where he showed me this tutorial video for Angry Birds cupcakes by Nerdy Nummies. I changed a few things from the video (e.g. did not use sanding sugar because the kids would already have enough sugar in the cupcakes and frosting). I made a gluten-free chocolate cupcake with cream cheese frosting and decorated them.

Angry Birds Cupcakes

A few notes:

  • Instead of 1/2 a marshmallow on the birds, I only used a 1/4 of a marshmallow so it wouldn’t protrude too much from the surface of the cupcake
  • For the pig, I did not frost first and then put on it’s marshmallow nose and frost again; instead, when the marshmallow is freshly cut and a bit sticky, I simply stuck it to the cupcake and frosted it in one step – nose and all
  • I used Jelly Belly jelly beans for the birds’ feathers atop their heads and for the pigs’ eyebrows (it’s a picky little thing, but I made sure that the Jelly Belly logo did not show by turning them towards the frosting)
  • Instead of purchasing licorice for the birds’ eyebrows (because I think licorice tastes terrible), I used black frosting

Angry Birds Cupcakes Pig

I also learned that the little boys prefer the birds over the pigs because the birds are “good guys” whereas the pigs  are “bad guys.” In the words of my nephew, “please make more of the birds and not so many of the pigs because they are bad guys.” Although I may like the pigs more because they are cute, I need to remember that these are not for me, but for the boys.

Leave a Reply

